LFD Audio NCSE and Harbeth speakers

Is this really the last amp I’ll ever need?

I’m talking here about the latest LFD NCSE integrated amplifier. The answer is uncomplicated. Quite possibly, yes, it is. Naturally I’ve not heard every fantastic integrated amplifier from all the upmarket makers worldwide – but I’ve heard many.

I say this having owned, used and sold (MORE) the LFD Linestages (line-level preamps) 3 and the magnificent PA3 monos monoblocs over some years. I’m convinced that in a well organised A/B comparative demonstration between the latest LFD NCSE and the LFD Linestage (line-level preamp) 3 / PA3 monos combination it would be very difficult to point to anything significant that the LFD NCSE can’t do – or that the other combination can do that would justify the considerable price differential.

Possibly, just possible the PA3s through my Eminent Technology ribbon speakers might be a tad more neutral in the mid range. Frankly I’m far for certain that this is nothing more than a slight change in perspective or if you prefer, a difference rather than improvement. It’s too close to call, for my ears at least.

The LFD NCSE has for me the get-up-and-go of the Zero LE range plus nearly all the speed, grunt, slam and heft of the PA2M SE twin mono (in one chassis) power amp.

Currently (and the LFD Anniversary stage notwithstanding) this may well be Dr. Bews’ masterpiece.

The sheer compelling nature of the reproduction is beyond my powers of description.

Once again and without collaboration with Harbeth it seems that the good doctor has produced the ultimate driving machine for all Harbeth models. To me it’s the first amp of any make that can control the (to me) wobbly and wayward bass performance of the Harbeth 40.1 monitors without compromising the outstanding midrange and magnificent treble of these otherwise flawed yet popular speakers.

For the first time, and only via the LFD NCSE have I heard the Harbeth 40.1 producing convincing rock music with the aplomb that they do with jazz and classical music. I’m not a Harbeth retailer through choice (MORE) but I do recognise the outstanding results that can be achieved by proper partnering. I’d go as far as to say the following. First, the LFD NCSE makes the 40.1 superior to the magnificent SHL 5’s and secondly I’d go as far as to suggest that quite possibly that no owner of 40.1s who lack the benefit of the LFD NCSE truly know what those expensive speakers can rarely do.

As for me, in my home with my benchmark DAC, a variety of old transports, my Trio (Kenwood) KT-917 FM tuner, my Nakamichi 680 cassette deck and my Eminent Technology LFT-8 ribbon speakers, the latest LFD NCSE is quite probably my final amplifier. I’ll never say never but … I’ve put my beloved Accuphase E-405 up for sale. For those that know me, there’s no greater accolade.

Finally, if you can’t afford or choose not to get the LFD NCSE then buy the latest LFD Zero LE integrated. In its price band, it’s unbeatable. But it’s not the LFD NCSE in disguise.

HP

Leave a comment