LFD with Musical Fidelity DAC-21, Rega Apollo, Cardas and Dynaudio Confidence C1

I am not able to come to the UK, but was intrigued by your comments elsewhere in the audiophile media. I’m currently thinking of an integrated with a phono stage, and wondered if you might know if the LFD integrated might be a good match for my system.

I’ve an Rega Apollo as transport into an MF Trivista DAC 21, which will play into my future amp. (first option was the Cyrus 8vs2 with a PSX-R). My speakers are Dynaudio Confidence C1′s, the interconnects are Cardas Neutral/golden Reference, and the speaker cables are Chord Signature. Ought I be bold enough to purchase the LFD’s sight unseen (and unheard) from the UK ? Or should I try to arrange a listen ? thanks for your time.

Even with stiff competition from my newly purchased Manley Stingray, the LFD integrated still remains for me the finest amplification I stock or indeed have heard under £3000. I still remain puzzled as to why Dr. Bews is so dismissive of his onboard phono stage. Maybe he has the sound of his frankly staggering MCT in his head. The point being that the on-board phone stage gives the PS Audio at £799 a very close run for the money. The onboard LF MM/MC is UK just £200.

Re the Musical Fidelity Trivista DAC, even though I no longer represent them I have to say that that specific product is one of the finest they ever produced and one of the best DACs in that price band – ever. From personal experience, a superb match for the LFD.

The Rega Apollo I only know by reputation. Terrific value. A wise choice on your part!

I’ve used the LFD with bigger Dynaudio speakers than the ones you own. Assuming the tonal balance doesn’t vary too much throughout their range, then again the LFD should be an outstanding match. The terrific bass control of the LFD with it’s great attack and very will be a distinct asset.

I don’t know the Cardas personally, but I do know and recommend the Chord – even though I am not a retailer for them.

That should be enough to be getting on with. If not, get back to me.

Howard Popeck hp@no-alibi.demon.co.uk

Leave a comment